Mount St. Michael Secondary School

Achievements Day

Our annual achievements day takes place each May. On this day the school community gathers together to celebrate the wonderful array of talents and student successes in our school. We celebrate achievements in the areas of attendance, community spirit and involvement, sport, debating, Gaisce, academic excellence, art, Green School activities, culinary arts, music, performing arts, fundraising and many more.

There are many coveted awards on that day some of the most significant being:

  • Solas Award for Junior students - This award was introduced in 2016 and is awarded to students who display characteristics of being helpful, inclusive, generous and inspiring. Each class group votes for a recipient from their class, with the guidance of their Class Tutor.
  • Sports Star Awards - Students are nominated in different sports categories with an overall winner receiving the Mairead Saddler Memorial Cup.
  • CEIST Award - This award was introduced in 2015 by our schools Trustees CEIST. This award goes to a student who reflects the spirit and core values of CEIST. This student is good at creating community, shows respect for everyone, strives for justice and takes responsibility and finally seeks a meaning and purpose to life through developing their spirituality and human relationships.
  • Student of the Year - A Leaving Cert student, voted for by their peers and teachers. Students and teachers write a short comment about why they have chosen this person. Three nominees are presented to the school along with the reasons why they have been chosen.
  • Ray Leonard Memorial Cup - This is awarded to a student who has made a significant contribution to our annual school musical. It can be from the perspective of a character they played, help back stage or any other significant role.
  • Sr. Colombiere Memorial Cup - This is presented to the Transition Year student who most embraced the spirit of Transition year. Those who set new challenges for themselves, took responsibility for their own learning and were willing to get involved in a range of activities are the students most likely to be nominated for this award.

Each year we invite a guest speaker, who is also a past pupil, to speak to our students about their time at school and about the many paths they have travelled since leaving Mount St. Michael. Previous guests include:

2022 - Green Party Senator for the Agricultural Panel serves as Minister of State for Land Use and Biodiversity in the Department of Agriculture

2021 - Achievements Day curtailed due to Covid Pandemic

2020 - Achievements Day cancelled due to Covid Pandemic

2019 - Elaine Browne Founder of Perspective Peer Support Centre, winner of the Mayo Inspirational Woman Award, 2019

2018 - Deirdre Waldron, CEO of TBWA/Dublin

2017 - Sarah Durkan, Global Operations Manager of Science Gallery International

2016 - Deirdre Mongan, Paralympian, two bronze medals (World and European Championships) and placed 5th in Rio Olympics

2015 - Clodagh McGovern, circumnavigated the globe on the yacht LUSH, owned by Eddie Jordan

2014 - Anita Reilly, Education Technical Adviser to International Rescue Committee (IRC), helps people whose lives and livlihoods are shattered by conflict and disaster to survive, recover and gain control of their future

2013 - Sabina Higgins, wife of Michael D. Higgins, President of Ireland

2012 - Catherine Noone, Senator

2011 - Beatrice Cosgrove, Country Manager, Etihad Airways

Claremorris Co. Mayo F12TY09
© 2024 Mount St. Michael Secondary School