Mount St. Michael Secondary School

School Staff

Mount St. Michael is fortunate to have members of staff who are fully committed to the development of young people. Our staff are encouraged to engage

Mount St. Michael is fortunate to have members of staff who are fully committed to the development of young people. Our staff are encouraged to engage in Continuous Professional Development to ensure that they are aware of, and practice in, the latest developments in teaching and learning. In our classrooms teachers seek to actively engage their students so that students are at the centre of their own learning.

Please read more here by clicking on our Teaching and Learning Policy

In addition to, and in conjunction with teaching and learning our staff are keenly aware of the wellbeing of their students. Each student is under the care of a Class Tutor who takes a particular interest in their pastoral care throughout their time in Mount St. Michael. Each one of the six year groups also has the further support of a Year Head, a senior member of staff, who takes overall responsibility for their welfare, attendance and academic progress.

Parents are encouraged to keep in contact with the school and formal parent teacher meetings are organised as part of the school calendar. Parents are also welcome to meet with teachers at other times to discuss pupil progress by making an appointment through the school office.

Mount St. Michael Staff

Mr. Ciarán Ryan Principal
Ms. Ann Marie Concagh Deputy Principal
Ms. Siobhan Allen English/Geography/CSPE
Ms. Michelle Barrett Irish/English/CSPE/EAL
Ms. Mary Benson Music/French
Ms. Aoife Boyle AEN/English/EAL
Ms. Laura Brogan Religion/English
Ms. Sheila Butler Business/French/LCVP
Ms. Sinead Collins Art/Digital Arts & Animation/eportfolio
Ms. Maureen Commons Science/Safety in the Workplace
Ms. Aine Conneely German/Irish
Ms. Charlene Curran AEN/CSPE
Ms. Orla Dempsey Career Guidance/Counselling
Ms. Claire Fox Art
Ms. Emma Galligan English/History/CSPE/SPHE
Ms. Fiona Glavey Home Economics/SPHE
Ms. Sinead Grogan Maths/Science/Physics
Mr. Brendan Hession English/Geography
Ms. Stephanie Hogan AEN/Friends for Life
Ms. Patricia Keane Maths
Ms. Frances Lyons Maths/Agricultural Science/Chemistry
Mr. Conor Maguire English/History/EAL
Ms. Martina McNicholas Maths/Business/Economics/Mini Company/LCVP
Ms. Karen Mitchell Home Economics/Religion/SPHE
Ms. Therese Moran Maths/Geography
Ms. Sinead Mulhern Music/Religion/SPHE
Ms. Aideen Murphy/Ms.Sinead Kelly Maths/Business/Mini Company/LCVP
Ms. Edel Nolan/Mr. Matthew Loughnane PE/Science
Ms. Kelly-Anne O'Grady English/Religion
Ms. Nora Power English/History/CSPE
Ms. Deirdre Regan Irish
Ms. Bernie Ruane Maths/Science
Ms. Maggie Scahill/Ms. Megan O'Hara Irish/Geography/CSPE
Mr. Gerard Slattery History/French
Ms. Patricia Tuohy PE
Ms. Heather Varley Science/Biology
Ms. Aishling Warde Maths/Business/Accounting/LCVP
Ms. Fiona Grimes SNA
Ms. Glenda Mortimer SNA
Ms. Mary Kelly School Secretary
Ms. Anne Henry School Finance Secretary
Mr. Mark Osbourne School Caretaker
Ms. Angela Glynn School Canteen Staff
Ms. Aleksandra Toklinska School Cleaning Staff

05 2022
School Closure
06 2022
2Y Parent Teacher Meeting
14 2022
Open Evening
Follow us
Mount St. Michael Secondary School,
Co. Mayo,

094 93 71474

Ceist- Catholic Education, an Irish schools trust
© 2022 Mount St. Michael Secondary School